Sugene Lee

The Last Game: April 13, 2011

In Uncategorized on April 15, 2011 at 7:01 am

In the 18 years (my whole life) I’ve lived in L.A, the first time I’ve ever been to the Staples Center was Wednesday night; also the first time I ever WANTED to go. I’ve seen it thousands of time, but only when driving down the freeway. Anyways, that’s besides the point.

My dad got my brother and me tickets to the last Clippers game of the season as a birthday present, and it became one of the best nights I’ve had in a very long while. After seeing the Clippers so many times on t.v, getting to see them in person, just 6 rows behind their bench, didn’t feel real at all. What I mean by that is, it literally felt like I was in a dream the whole time. The view I get is what I choose to see rather than having to see what the cameras give me on the screen when watching it at home.

The last game of the season was Fan Appreciation Night so there were lots and lots of prizes and giveaways, and I got nothing, except Ike Diogu’s autograph… But that’s okay because watching Blake Griffin play in person was 1000x better. The first few minutes was definitely “The Blake Show”; he scored the first ten points or so within the first three minutes, and the rest was history.. well, almost.   Clippers were up by about 30 points by halftime until Memphis picked up their game in the 4th quarter. Anyways, the weird part for me was, even though Memphis is a play-off team now, I just KNEW Clippers were going to win. Maybe that’s just me being extremely optimistic about going to my first basketball game EVER, but the feeling was there and it came true. Blake Griffin brings a new meaning to his league and so do the rest of the Clippers and fans. The support DeAndre Jordan got after his air-ball free throw from the fans and the smiles/laughs Blake and he exchanged were such precious moments and so human-like. And maybe because this is the first game I’ve ever seen in person, I can’t seem to put my feelings or what I saw into words, so I will end here for now. In short, the Clippers are an amazing team and will continue to rise and go to playoffs next year. I can feel it. The poster says it all. 

Leave a Reply

