Sugene Lee

LAClippers are Missed

In Uncategorized on April 18, 2011 at 7:24 am

Man… I cannot describe to anybody how much I miss watching the Clippers play. Yes, the play-offs are exciting especially with all these close, intense games in the first round, but it doesn’t compare to watching any Clippers games with Blake Griffin. You may be thinking how bias I am and I agree 100%, but I don’t have a favorite to win the whole thing. That would also be a lie. I want Lakers to win, but if they don’t I think I’ll get over it in an hour or so. If Clippers made it to playoffs this year, I definitely would’ve bought another ticket to watch before I left for BYU. The thought of what next year will be like already gets me excited; I just hope these injuries stop. Because I won’t be seeing alot of Blake Griffin or the Clippers over the next five months or so, I’m trying to make up for it by looking up youtube videos on his rookie year. I know I know, I’m so obsessed it’s disgusting, but a girls gotta do what a girls gotta do. Just kidding.

Like many people say, Clippers’s fans are not born to be a Clippers fan. They’re simply made into one. That’s definitely what happened to me this year. You can say I just hopped onto the Blake Griffin bandwagon, if there is one, but I don’t care. He’s changed the face of this league and I got hooked since November of just last year. I’ve always been exposed to the NBA and watched games with my brothers, but never in my life did I ever think I would fall in love with such an underdog team. When my friends find out about the addiction I have for the Clippers, they look at me like I’m crazy. And since Clippers lose more than they win, I get responses and made fun of for liking such a “bad” team. And when somebody makes fun of something I like, I get really offended and begin to argue. At this very moment, my friend is trying to say Blake Griffin is not good, sucks at defense, can only dunk and boy am I getting a little frustrated. Nobody can expect a rookie to come in and dominate his first year, but Blake was sure close to doing that in the regular season. There was always at least one picture of him in the top stories on nba.com. He was practically guaranteed the ROY award within a month. He was the first person in NBA history to be a part of the Rookie/Sophomore Challenge, Slam Dunk Contest, AND the All-Star Game. And he still dominated in all 3 events despite the loss of a close friend over cancer.

For all those who’ve seen him play already know he’s an amazing basketball player. On the court, only half of his personality comes out and that’s his determination to give 100% all the time and his humility. Many people think he has a boring personality and never smiles, but obviously they were wrong. He’s become quite the comedian over the past few months with videos on  Myspace and Norm MacDonald’s SportsShow. Even during interviews after practice, he and his team will bring smiles and laughs to whoever watches them.

Enough of this rant and obsession. I just want to say that I know Blake Griffin will become an even MORE amazing player and they WILL make the playoffs next year. And I hope Blake will stay humble and play hard all the time as he improves his game over the summer. High expectations are set for him, and I’m sure he’ll definitely exceed those expectations as he did this year. One more thing, I hope he never gets any tattoos and stays clean like Dwight Howard. 🙂

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

