Sugene Lee

Inspiration

In Uncategorized on April 20, 2011 at 1:47 am

I wish I decided to start a blog about the Clippers earlier, but better late than never, right?

Since they are no longer playing, I want to write about what they’ve done for me personally. From elementary school to now, these are a list of things I wanted to become: teacher, lawyer, psychologist, author and now, a sports journalist (NBA, to be more specific). It took me a while to realize what I wanted to be, but it all happened because of the Clippers. At first, I was just an extreme fan and watched all their games from “Clippers Live to Clippers Live” simply because it was entertaining for me. The more I watched, the more I got into it. I was spending more time on NBA.com than I was on Facebook or any other social network. To add onto that, I began talking about the Clippers and Blake Griffin nonstop. Information and statistics I’ve been hearing on t.v and reading about soon spilled out of my mouth like water. Guys were saying I knew more about basketball than they did, but like I said, I didn’t realize that until later. Just a couple months ago, I finally realized that I really wanted to be an NBA journalist. Being addicted to basketball for 5 months doesn’t really help me know a whole lot of basketball, which I don’t. But as I enter college, I really feel like I have the drive to do anything it takes to become what I’m dreaming of.

But, in life, there’s always a problem. ALWAYS. In my case, the problem is something called “Asian Parents.” Sure, they always gave me opportunities to develop certain talents and have the experience of doing new things, but never did they give me the opportunity to further improve what I loved doing; one of which was volleyball. They let me have a taste of the things I wanted to do, but always pushed me to do things I didn’t: violin. With my future about to start, when I told my mom I wanted to become a journalist, she looked at me with disgust and muttered. Then she responds, “Why don’t you just listen to me and become a lawyer. You’ll never succeed by becoming a journalist. They don’t get paid much and you always waste your time with basketball.” I simply replied, “If I fail trying, I can live with myself. But I can’t live knowing I never tried to become what I most want right now just to make you happy.”

I’m not oblivious to the fact at how hard and how unlikely it will be to really become an NBA journalist, but this is what I want right now and will do whatever it takes. I love my parents with all my heart, but I don’t want to be living a life doing something I dread to do everyday.

This post sounded more like a complaint, but the Clippers really inspired me and helped me realize my dream. 20 years later, I might be looking back at this post laughing at how idiotic I sound, but just maybe I’ll be looking back and be proud of what I accomplished.

  1. Hey Sugene,
    I LOVE your story!! I think it’s so cool how you are able to find something you love to do. I just want to be an accountant because the salary is pretty good and I love to count money. lol. Anyway all I wanted to say is, “Don’t give up, and follow your dreams,” or else you WILL regret it when you’re older. (I’m serious, there are some stuff that I wish I had started earlier: ((( )

  2. Thank you Amanda!!
    And you can still do what you want to do! you have time~ we’re still young! 😀

Leave a Reply

